This site uses cookies; by continuing to use our site you agree to our use of cookies. More details in our privacy policy. Close



Revealed: The finalists of the 2015 I&R Awards 29 July 2015 can today reveal the full shortlist for the 2015 I&R Awards, sponsored by Capa, as the scheme returns for its eighth year.

A record-breaking number of entries were submitted for this year’s awards, leaving 142 finalists across all categories after the shortlisting process.

More than 90 individual companies are represented across the shortlist.

This year the awards scheme has a new logo, new judges, a new strapline to reflect the profession’s different strands and an important new category – the Creditor Engagement Award.

This new category boasts a shortlist of Baker Tilly Creditor Services, KPMG, Mazars, Moore Stephens, Restart Business Turnaround and Insolvency and TDX Group.

The deadline for all shortlisted companies to send their long-form entries is August 11.

Finalists can get essential tips for completing these full entries from the judges themselves, via various 60-second interviews in which they help entrants give themselves the best chance of taking home the award.

For example panel co chair Bob Pinder, regional director, professional standards, at the ICAEW, advises: “Stick to answering the criteria, challenge yourself and/or your firm. Project your personality or that of your firm and back up any significant achievements with stats or KPIs.”

With an independent judging panel co-chaired by the ICAEW and comprising the largest insolvency and accountancy firms (such as PwC, KPMG and Begbies Traynor), along with restructuring heads within Britain’s banks (HSBC and Lloyds Banking Group), the awards scheme is the profession’s prime barometer of outstanding achievement.

Joint chair of the judging panel, Steve Allinson, licenced insolvency practitioner and consultant at Lester Aldridge, said: “Every year the quality of the shortlist for the I and R Awards seems to get better and better.

“This year really does represent the full breadth of the insolvency and restructuring profession and without doubt the Judges will have a very demanding day to come up with the winners in each category. It is a challenge that I know we are all hugely looking forward to.”

The full shortlist is as follows:

Asset and Invoice Finance provider of the Year
Gener8 Finance
Hitachi Capital Invoice Finance
Royal Bank of Scotland
Secure Trust Bank Business & Commercial

Asset Valuer / Auctioneer of the Year up to and including £1m turnover – sponsored by Hilco Capital
ASSETtrail @ JPS Chartered Surveyors
Metis Partners
MGR Appraisals
Total Asset Recovery
Wyles Hardy & Co

Asset Valuer / Auctioneer of the Year OVER £1m turnover
John Pye Auctions
Lambert Smith Hampton
Liquidity Services (GoIndustry Dovebid)
SIA Group
Winterhill Group

Banking Restructuring of the Year
Barclays Business Support
Royal Bank of Scotland – a Mechanical and Electrical Engineering firm
Royal Bank of Scotland – a commercial tiling business

Best Use of Technology
Baker Tilly
JLT Group
KSA Group
Red Flag Alert
TDX Group
TurnKey Computer Technology
VisionBlue Solutions

Business Rescue of the Year – up to £20m turnover
Baker Tilly
Chamberlain & Co – a catering company
Chamberlain & Co – a supplier of agency staff to care homes
Hilco Capital
Kent Messenger Group
KPMG – Project Belsay
KPMG – Project Nomad
The MacDonald Partnership

Business Rescue of the Year – £21m plus turnover
Baker Tilly
Duff & Phelps
Greybull Capital
KPMG – Cimos dd
KPMG – Monarch Group
KPMG – Opal
Sullivan & Cromwell – Towergate Insurance Group
Sullivan & Cromwell – Zim Intergrated Shipping Services

Creditor Engagement Award
Baker Tilly Creditor Services
Moore Stephens
Restart Business Turnaround and Insolvency
TDX Group

Corporate Insolvency Practitioner of the Year – working within firms with up to 10 licensed appointment taking insolvency practitioners
Alan Clark, Carter Clark
Stratford Hamilton, Haslers
Adrian Hyde, CVR Recovery
Richard Marlow, Restart Business Turnaround and Insolvency
Chris Parkman, Purnells
Keith Stevens, Wilkins Kennedy
Andrew Tate, Kreston Reeves

Corporate Recovery Firm of the Year – up to 10 licensed appointment taking insolvency practitioners
Abbott Fielding
Armstrong Watson
Kreston Reeves
KSA Group
UHY Hacker Young
Wilkins Kennedy

Corporate Recovery Firm of the Year – 11 or more licensed appointment taking insolvency practitioners sponsored by SIA Group
Baker Tilly
Duff & Phelps
Moore Stephens

Debt Management Team of the Year
Debt Advisory Line
The Debt Counsellors Charitable Trust
Grant Thornton
JP Associates
Lawrence Charlton (Debt Free Direct)
StepChange Debt Charity

Education/Training Provider of the Year
Baker Tilly
Insolvency Support Services
Neil Taylor Insolvency
Turnstone Law

Insolvency Law Firm – seven or less office locations
Ashteds Solicitors
Clarion Solicitors
Coffin Mew Solicitors
Lester Aldridge
Moon Beever
Stephensons Solicitors
Summit Law
Walker Morris

Insolvency Law Firm – 8 or more office locations
Charles Russell Speechlys
DLA Piper
Kennedys Law
Squire Patton Boggs
Stephenson Harwood
Taylor Wessing

Insolvency Manager of the Year
Robert Arthur, KPMG
Caraline Bytheway, FRP Advisory
Paul Mallatratt, Baker Tilly Creditor Services
Tom Russell, James Cowper Kreston
Helen Seaman, KPMG
Luke Wiseman, KPMG
Steve Butler, PKF Cooper Parry

Insolvency Team of the Year sponsored by Neil Taylor Insolvency
Baker Tilly National Credit Service
Mazars National Credit Service
Walker Morris
Wilkins Kennedy

International Firm of the Year
DLA Piper
Sullivan & Cromwell

Personal Insolvency Firm of the Year sponsored by VisionBlue Solutions
DDJ Insolvency
Wylie & Bisset

Recovery Firm of the Year – New Start Ups
DDJ Insolvency
Middlebrooks Business Recovery & Advice
RNF Business Advisory

Regional Insolvency Firm of the Year
Ensors Chartered Accountants
Herron Fisher
PKF Cooper Parry
Wylie & Bisset

Rising Star Award sponsored by the ICAEW
Dominic Dumville, Haslers
Alessandro Sidoli, Purnells
Russell Simpson, Grant Thornton
Ashley Speak, Moore Stephens
Chris Ward, Summit Law
Katie Young, Peter Hall

Turnaround Practitioner of the Year
Karthik Dasari, Tern Capital
Adrian Doble, Adrian Doble
David Fleming, Duff & Phelps
Doug MacDonald, The MacDonald Partnership
Richard Marlow, Restart Business Turnaround and Insolvency

The Sabin award will be announced on the night.

By Marcel LeGouais



blog comments powered by Disqus