This site uses cookies; by continuing to use our site you agree to our use of cookies. More details in our privacy policy. Close



Insolvency & Rescue Awards: All the winners 6 October 2011


In a lavish ceremony at the Lancaster Hotel in the heart of London’s West End, the winners of the 20 hotly contested categories finally learnt they had been voted the very best in their discipline.

Comedian Stephen K Amos (pictured) enlivened proceedings ahead of the winner announcements with the mood of insolvency’s finest well and truly spiced up as Amos’ puns set the tone for what was to be a terrific event.

Publishing director Kamala Panday informed last night’s attendees that the awards – now in their fourth year – were the biggest and brightest yet with entries from over 100 separate companies and individuals.

The generosity of the industry also didn’t go unnoticed as the attendees dug deep in their pockets for donations towards the evening’s charity – Credit Action – a specialist debt and credit education charity.

Liz Dunscombe - the charity’s director of project and partnership development collected the £4,000 cheque on stage.

The event followed on from the inaugural Insolvency Today Conference which featured some of the biggest names in the business. Click here to read who attended.




Insolvency practitioner of the year (personal)

- Matthew Chadwick, national head of courtwork, BDO LLP

- Jackie Westerman, insolvency practitioner, CCCS Voluntary Arrangements (joint winners)


Corporate practitioner of the year

- Ian Mark Defty, partner, Kingston Smith & Partners LLP


Turnaround practitioner of the year

- Roger Bayly, partner, head of turnaround, KPMG LLP


Insolvency manager of the year

Winner: Robert Steven Wilkinson, senior manager, Cooper Williamson

Highly commended: Richard Bathgate, manager, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Highly commended: Matthew Callaghan, manager, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP


Insolvency lawyer of the year

- Nick Moser, partner, restructuring and corporate recovery, Taylor Wessing LLP


Rising star of the year

Jane Warner, managing director, Baronsmead Consulting


Banking restructuring team of the year

- Global restructuring group, RBS


Insolvency support team of the year

- Compliance on Call


Corporate recovery firm of the year (3 licensed IPs)

- Parker Andrews


Corporate recovery firm of the year (4-20 licensed IPs)

- Leonard Curtis


Corporate recovery firm of the year (21 plus licensed appointment taking IPs)



Business rescue of the year - under £20m turnover

- PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP / The New Victoria Hospital


Business rescue of the year - £21m to £50m turnover

- PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP / British School of Motoring


Business rescue of the year - £51m plus turnover

KPMG / Cattles


Debt management provider of the year

- Debt Advisory Line


Insolvency law firm of the year

- Lawrence Graham


Business rescue funder of the year (Asset-based lender)

- Bibby Financial Services


Business rescue funder of the year (Broker / Equity)

- Beer & Young


Asset Valuer / Auctioneer of the year

- Metis Partners


The Sabin Award (Outstanding contribution to the UK rescue culture)

Colin Bird


Click here to see all of this year's finalists



blog comments powered by Disqus